## The magazine of the Western Afghan Hound Club 2 0 1 5 65 • Free to members www.wahc.co.uk

## 25 years of the WAHC John Conibear Memorial Trophy

The John Conibear Memorial Members' Points Trophy evolved some 25 years ago and the first winner was **Ch Kulute Miles Ahead** owned and bred by Debbie Coates-Waite. 'Miles' as he was known, was BOB at Crufts in 1994, he was sired by the 1987 Crufts BIS winner **Ch Viscount Grant**. Miles was one of 11 Champions that have won this award.

Points are accumulated from any wins at WAHC shows – over a 12 month period – as recognition of consistent achievement. The trophy is now a glass bowl, as unfortunately the original got so damaged it had to be replaced!

## Roll of honour...

1991 Ch Kulute Miles Ahead

1992 Ch Melleck Hitchiker

1993 Bozwood's Honky Tonk Woman

**1994** Ch Zelzah's French Connection at Bozwood

1995 Zareenas Celesta

1996 Zareenas Celesta

1997 Jimellree Be Bop A Lula



oto: Iohn Ho



John Conibear judging bitches at the WAHC Championship Show in 1987. The CC winner was the future **Champion KATREE MISS HENNA**, (right) owned by Kathy and Les Fulford, winning her second of six CCs. The RCC winner was **Champion SACHEVERELL ALEXIS** owned by Chris Mahn-Lloyd. Afghans and people featured were all great west country favourites and all, sadly, no longer with us.

**1998** Karaburan Jack Tea Garden

**1999 JOINT** Bondor Black Pepper & Ch Karaburan Tina Turner

**2000** Ch/Multi/Int Ch Exxos Gameboy at Zharook JW imp

**2001** Garamond The Noble Bachelor

**2002** Calamayor Velvet at Ellistine

**2003** Kulute Jaegar among Zandahar

**2004** Kulute Jaegar among Zandahar

2004 Kulute Jaeyal alliong Zandana

2005 Ch Metewand Wiscasset JW

**2006** Andizhan Arael at Cadmore JW

**2007** Ch Drishaun Declan JW ShCM

2008 Ch Zandahar Treacle Tart JW ShCM

2009 Ch Sarakhan Senator JW

**2010** Pahlevi Ashby at Shirobana ShCM

2011 Ch Gezancol Enrique IW

**2012** Ch Andizhan Bakhtuu Arushkhan

**2013** Sitana Nishana at Lakarnadream JW

2014 Hubshe Shoki tu Arushkhan

2015 Gezancol Strike A Light at Zadal JW

Titles have been added where winners have gone on to become Champions.





